Don’t 

Don’t put me at crossroads

I’m built of such hope

Made up of song lyrics 

And abstract pericopes.

Don’t speak to me at midnight 

With tears in your voice

Unless you’re ready to give in

To the voice on your inside. 

Don’t surprise me on Sundays

With a breakfast in bed

I’m better at being ungrateful 

Living by the unsaid.

Don’t tell me you love me

That I’m all you want

I’m not a goal or achievement 

But a human composed of knots.

Don’t read this twice

And try to figure out

I’d rather you continue to swim 

In the whirlpool of doubt.

Leave a Reply

