a seven-day observation

Today I complete (at this very minute as I’m typing this) exactly one week of hostel life. It’s safe to say that I have successfully survived through one week of college education. I can’t exactly say that I’ve found my place yet but yes, the strangeness of the predicament has come down to a decent level.

Perpetually, residing in my distant (and somewhat aloof) self, I haven’t made any “best” friends per se. Not yet, at least. I haven’t been unable to but I haven’t really tried either. That’s mostly because I can’t help it but also because I don’t want to find myself decreasing under the burden of socialization for the greater half of my time here. I have made a conscious choice to give up the ten year old façade and come out of the closet of my fictional being. Instead, I have chosen to drift along like a gypsy in the socialization arena.
Although, that is not entirely possible considering the fact that we live in the age of adverse technology where each person is 24×7 with another.

Since I don’t have a specific bunch of people that identify me as a part of them, I have been going around, spending time with different kinds of people at different times of the day. I’ve pried over a lot of their conversations, occasionally revealing myself. I’ve slept through some of the short-lived companionships and felt alive through others. I’ve had ample of time to sit back and articulate the cracks in people’s behaviour while adjusting my own.

One of the most intriguing observations has been that of the split personalities that have already begin to surface.
When we hang out with only a specific bunch of people, we are already familiarised with their behaviour on a day to day basis vis-a-vis the virtual world and the reality. So the difference often becomes non-existent in our heads. Quite a lot of people behave the same in both the places. But there are some that put forth a completely different personality in the virtual world as well as the real one.

Initially, I looked at it as ‘fake’. But then something a particular Professor in the class happened to mention got me thinking about it again and before I knew it, my perspective had evolved to a mature phase of its own. I came to understand that the difference in the behaviour had more to do with the two kinds of personalities that people nowadays tend to have. One is the social media personality (which constitutes the way people text, the kind of expressions they reveal on line) and the other is the one in front of actual people.

Once I made peace with this, human behaviour-watching became so much more interesting! The differences in the personalities put me in an awe beyond measure.
One common misbelief we tend to have is that people are always more open in the virtual world than the real one.
That may be true in certain cases but the chances of the exact opposite happening is fifty-fifty.

Some people feel more freedom in being themselves in the virtual world while the others restrict their behaviour in the same and vice versa. There are also some that behave quite alike on both the platforms.
However, the idea of ‘being yourself in the virtual/real world’ is open to debate as personalities in both the worlds are more prone to being  created/moulded by other dominant ones.

Leave a Reply

