Times LitFest 2015

I was at the Times LitFest 2015 being held in Bandra, Mumbai yesterday. Due to some sheer bad luck I wasn’t able to go today (which is why I’m here blogging about it) but it was great fun!

I listened to Sudha Murthy speak for an hour about her journey as a philanthropist and how the world throws the positive and the negative both at you but it’s up to us how and what we take away!
It was amazing! I could listen to her speak for hours. Her humbleness and honesty always make her seem more like a warm grandmother than any of the prolific professions that adorn her Wikipedia page.
For me, personally, she’s very special mainly because she is one of the few authors I got attached to (R.K.Narayan, Enid Blyton, JK Rowling are a few others) when I had just started reading books outside school classrooms. And even though I haven’t followed her books as religiously, it’s the ones that I read as a child that have stuck by me in the form of indelible impressions on my young mind. Not that I remember any of her stories, but there is this warm, morally inspiring feeling I get whenever the title of her Children’s books flash in front of my eyes.

Here are some pictures I was able to take. They are terrible, i know. my apologies; the scarcity of my photography skills took over as i went weak in my knees with all the LitFest enthusiasm and ambience and i have no regrets!

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

IMG_20151204_142916

That’s me being excited and trying to get a half descent picture of the same!!!

Left: Naseeruddin Shah and Ratna Pathak at one of the book readings.
Right: Sudha Murthy!

 

Leave a Reply

