5 words for people who read and what’s wrong with them

I don’t always have a problem with a lot of things. But when I think about stuff I do, though I prefer keeping quiet. One such topic I’d like to explore here. Bear with me.

Now, I read. Not a lot. Not too much. Just more than the average person. Let’s just say I need to have a book in my Currently Reading section on GoodReads (yes, I’m on GoodReads so that too) ALL THE TIME. Can’t do without it. It’s a compulsion I don’t have to try to follow. And I make it obvious too.
Naturally, over the years I’ve been called a lot of names that are associated with people who read books — mostly fiction, I think? Not sure.
So what I’m doing here is: I have combined a short list of terms I’ve been stamped with and why I don’t particularly like them.

FAST READER

Honestly speaking, you non-readers need to understand that there is no such thing as a ‘Fast reader’. It’s actually cheating.
If you’re a regular reader, you probably don’t read all the words. Your eyes skim through the sentences, conveniently skipping the articles and conjunctions–the, it, an, a, and, but etc. You think you read it but you actually don’t. Your mind just makes those words up before you’ve even completed it so you can skip to the next word and so on. As and when you read more, the range of words you can skip keeps increasing. This makes the process a little faster, yes. But it’s essentially cheating if you think about it.
So yeah.
The ‘fast reader’ that you’re referring to is probably just someone who spends a lot of time reading. They invest effort and time so they can finish more books, while you just assume they read fast and call them names.

BOOK LOVER

OKAY, I have no issues with this one. We do love books. A lot. Really.

BIBLIOPHILE

I adore this word. It’s accurate. And beautiful. But it became a thing of the internet and in my opinion, that’s when things lose importance. There is so much information on the internet. It’s unlimited and free. Hence, there’s also a lot of hogwash. Or at least it becomes hogwash once people of the internet become real-time experts on it with zilch actual knowledge. My heart breaks to see all the conjectures that float about the internet with so much confidence.
I’m diverging.
Basically, I’m just tired of seeing Bibliphile on everyone’s Instagram bio and handles. Guys, chill. Owning all the John Green books DOES NOT make you a bibliphile.

BOOKWORM

Um, I never understood this. Why a worm only? Why not something else? Honestly, the first time I heard this I mistook it for something derogatory. I couldn’t understand the reason for the hate. I just assumed that calling someone a worm implied something that wasn’t nice and went with my gut instinct till someone told me what it actually means.
In case you’ve been living under a rock and still don’t know: it means someone who enjoys reading.

BOOK NERD

I think this is something the reader community decided to adopt. It helps us feel united and all that I guess. But this word is somehow associated with readers wearing spectacles and digging their face in books.
You know like a picture of yourself in fake/new/real specs with #NerdModeOn #NerdForLife #BookNerd #Glasses #StrongNerdGame
(I know because I had my phase of Fake Spectacles) (EXPERIENCE IS A TEACHER OKAY)
Bottom line is that a lot of us actually have properly functioning eyes. Also, we’re living in the age of contact lenses.

Still, STOP LABELLING US.

Let me know if there’s anything I missed, yeah?

Leave a Reply

