Us-tounding!

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

I have been reading Us by David Nicholls and I just want to take a moment to talk about how beautiful his writing is. I have read Nicholls’ One Day, after I’d watched the movie and I loved it nevertheless. The man writes beautifully. He is extravagantly loquacious and normally I’d find that annoying but HIS WRITING IS JUST TOO BEAUTIFUL. It’s simple yet beautifully crafted, he mostly focuses on every day details, the mundane stuff which makes up most of our lives and is kind of boring to read about. But he uses these details like a strength, a tool of progression to make his tale more fascinating. You’re casually soothed into the world and left in the protagonist’s shoes and before you know it, you’re completely in the character’s mind and feeling like him/her.
I realise that a lot of writing is about this but very few authors have gotten to me like Nicholls has. It’s also is portrayal of domesticity or what one might call, the uninteresting, that creates this effect. I normally love using the word ‘raw’ but his writing is so much more than that. It’s like really sweet coconut water running down your throat on a breezy day. Yes. That’s exactly what it is.

(appreciate the wordplay pls thank you)

 

Leave a Reply

