Inadequacies

Sometimes I fear that my inadequacies
Might fill up the occasional empty spaces
In my thoughts
So I pace around in a hurry
And surrender to the pointless trap
Of validation that has broken hearts
And often made you doubt your soul
A world where intentions have gone for a toss
And the hunger for kindness is lost.

Sometimes I fear that my inadequacies
Might sneak in from the back door
And whisper low
Ask me what it is that I keep them hidden from
When there’s just me and something of
A lost feeling so forlorn
I’m scared they might bellow, and
The neighbourhood might hear
Mistaking them for crying wolves.

Sometimes I fear that my inadequacies
Might start to feel a little right
A familiar ground
That my feet might slip into only
For the deprecating comfort and warmth
And if I spend too long wearing them
Someone might accidentally see
What I look like while running away
From the one I used to be.

Leave a Reply

