Wrote

I wrote to untangle myself

Most nights when dread settled

In and the quietest place in my

Head became too still

I wrote to unclasp and bury

The anxiety that was often

Left behind by jigsaw puzzle pieces

Just waiting to fit perfectly.

That is when I discovered

That perfection did not exist

Beyond the words on my pages

Or the little anecdotes of humour and wit

We so fondly narrate to each other.

I wrote with doors shut and

Feelings escaping a mason jar

The colour of rust

I didn’t have screens back then

The loud wasn’t quite as loud

As what we’re so used to today.

I recall penning little side notes

That I wrote for myself

Shoddy handwriting, parenthesis and I

We really did come a long way.

2 thoughts on “Wrote

  1. Favourite lines:

    “That perfection did not exist

    Beyond the words on my pages

    Or the little anecdotes of humour and wit

    We so fondly narrate to each other.”

    This is absolutely brilliant.

Leave a Reply

