NaPoWriMo 5/30

Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt is brilliant!


Some grew up chasing sunsets,
I didn’t.

I found life in the morning mist
And the way it turned its back on me:
From a pleasant chill
To an unpleasant burn crawling
In between my toes
Leaving me tanned and uncomfortable
In the company of Indian aunties
I listened to while growing up.

I found the celebration of motion
In the way it climbed up
Trying to reach for the sky
Despite knowing the fact
That it would have to go away
Light some other homes for a while

I found the wonder of colours
In the way it faded
From purple to pink to orange
And back to a plain empty canvas
Until next time, it said to me
A customary goodbye.

I’d like to believe that I have seen
Too many sunrises in my life
Mapped and memorised them
In the ill-fated attic of my mind

But frankly,
I always miss a colour because
I got busy looking at a bird

Sometimes I even get impatient
When it takes more time than I expected
For it to step out of the clouds

I often end up leaving a little early
Trying, as always, to run
From the heat of the arriving moment
What if I don’t survive the burn?

Leave a Reply

