NaPoWriMo 10/30

Today’s prompt: a portrait of a person.


I don’t have thoughts about my lover anymore
But I know that my lover reads
He reads off the freckles on my nose
All the way to the arch between my toes
He reads what the thunderstorms have to say
He brings me back every evening when I stray.

I don’t have thoughts about my lover anymore
But I know that my lover counts
He counts the number of times I make a sound
And all our conversations that always come around
He counts the symmetries and edges that we make
All our crevices, fault lines, and everything at stake.

I don’t have thoughts about my lover anymore
But I know that my lover sings
He sings, not songs, but words that I’d like to say
And words that we slept on at night, till the next day
He sings for trees that have been cut down
He sings so we both find little reason to frown.

I don’t have thoughts about my lover anymore
But I know that my lover exists
Somewhere in the periphery of my foretelling
Hidden till it’s time to return to his dwelling
He exists in bouts of flickers and flares
Waiting for the day I’ll begin, once again, to dare.

Leave a Reply

