NaPoWriMo 13/30

Today’s prompt required us to write a Ghazal (which I did not know existed).

A ghazal is made up of couplets that are complete in themselves. The first two lines must end with the same phrase/word and this phrase/word should be repeated in the second line of the rest of the couplets.

Thanks to NaPoWriMo, I also discovered a really interesting poem today: Hip-Hop Ghazal by Patricia Smith


I see in your eyes, the collapse of your vision at my sight
And think of all the times, it was me, who shuddered at your sight.

With pale hands and a back breaking to hold upright
I asked for affection but shuddered at your sight.

The tinted windows caught fire, finally there was light!
I could see more clearly yet, with fright, I shuddered at your sight.

Infatuated with fear, my follies were full of might
Stripped under the naked sky, I shuddered at your sight.

Feeling like a device, I was doomed to alight
And crumble into dilapidated dreams as I shuddered at your sight.

Leave a Reply

