NaPoWriMo 26/30

And though I’ve longed for people
Longer than what was foretold
I’ve never met one quite like you
You and all the disasters you sold

*

Stay away from reunions
And the need to question why
The universe seems to ignore
Your intuition about the falling sky

*

My heart I kicked in the gut
And pushed back for safekeeping
But then you came prancing
Knocking forcefully on doors
I should’ve told you were shut

*

You wrapped my arms around your neck
But was I choking you?
I ask
For every twenty-third second
You pushed me away
Like I was built of splinters
That you didn’t want inside your heart.

*

I wish distance cured the heart
Like it does familiarity
And then I’d be able to tell you
About our story in my head
Like it’s a comedy

– i am not in love i swear

Leave a Reply

